Protection against Discrimination

Guideline according to General Equality Law

Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design attaches great importance to ensuring that no person is discriminated against within university life on the basis of gender, ethnic or social origin, age, disability, sexual orientation, religion or ideology.

BURG promotes a culture of looking out for one another based on respectful treatment. At the place of work and study, emphasis is placed on fairness, equal treatment, appreciative communication and cooperative behavior of all employees and students in cooperation, but also in dealing with conflicts.

The Senate of Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design Halle adopted the "Guideline for Protection against Discrimination under the General Equal Treatment Act (AGG)" in its meeting on 27.04.2016. The publication took place on May 10, 2016 in the official gazette of the university.

This guideline creates a prerequisite for preventing discrimination, harassment and violence, stalking and mobbing and, in the event of a conflict, to indicate clear behavioral procedures as well as possible sanctions for violations. The policy serves to reduce and prevent discrimination of any kind.

Contact points
In order to report violations of equal treatment, to receive help or to initiate a complaint procedure, those affected can contact the following offices in accordance with § 5 of the guideline:

University management

  • Deans
  • Supervisors
  • Staff Council
  • Equal Opportunity Officer
  • Representative for severely handicapped persons
  • Student Council
  • Psychological Counseling
  • Commission for Protection against Discrimination
  • The Commission for Protection against Discrimination was established by the Senate of the University of Applied Sciences to deal with complaints procedures according to § 6 of the guidelines.

Its members are:

  • Apl. Prof. Winfried Alexander, Deputy of the Art Faculty
  • Claudia Kokot, Representative of the Administration
  • Sebastian Komnick, Deputy of the other employees
  • Prof. Martin Neubert, Representative of the Art Faculty
  • Prof. Rita Rentzsch, Deputy of the Design Faculty
  • Prof. Andrea Tinnes, Representative of the Design Faculty

Further information

Members of the Senate